Dubai Syscraper to Integrate a Solar Thermal Tower

almesiantowerPutting solar panels on the roof (or side) of your skyscraper is so 2008. If you really want some efficiency without all those complicated photovoltaics. If you really love renewable energy, and you also like EXTREME temperatures, you should just buckle down and put a solar power tower at the top of your skyscraper.

And that’s the idea of the Almeisan Tower that’s been designed for Za’abeel park in Dubai.

The tower would be a home to an observation deck, a cafe, a children’s library and community meeting space, and would produce enough electricity to power itself, and several neighboring buildings. The solar power portion, at the top, would simply be a bunch of rotating mirrors that focus the sun’s light on a point at the peak of the structure. That point would get so hot that water pumped through would vaporize, and turn a steam turbine to create electricity. It’s not a new idea, eSolar is building several of these plants in America now, and they’ve been producing power in Spain for years.

http://www.ecogeek.org/component/content/article/2856

8 thoughts on “Dubai Syscraper to Integrate a Solar Thermal Tower

  1. Amazing blog! Do you have any helpful hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own website

    soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you suggest starting with a
    free platform like

    WordPress or go for a paid option? There are
    so many options out there that I’m totally confused .. Any suggestions? Thanks!

  2. I was just seeking this information for some time. After six hours of

    continuous Googleing, finally I got it in your website.
    I wonder what’s the lack of

    Google strategy that don’t rank this type of
    informative sites in top of the list.

    Usually the top sites are full of garbage.

  3. I definitely wanted to

    write down a small note in order to

    appreciate you for the nice secrets you are writing on this website.
    My rather long internet research has at the end been rewarded
    with pleasant strategies to talk about with my companions.
    I would repeat that many of us website visitors are very fortunate to exist in a great

    website with so many brilliant professionals with good things.

    I feel

    somewhat blessed to

    have used your

    webpage and look forward to so many more amazing minutes reading here.
    Thanks a lot again for

    everything.

  4. I have to express appreciation to you for rescuing
    me from this

    scenario. As a result of searching through the internet and finding

    recommendations which were not helpful, I thought my life was

    over. Existing devoid of the

    solutions to the issues you have sorted out by way of this guideline
    is a serious case, as well as the kind which could have adversely

    damaged my career if I had not encountered your blog post.
    Your primary ability and kindness in

    dealing with every item was important. I am not sure
    what I

    would have done if I had not discovered such a step like this.

    I can at this point look forward to my future. Thank you very much for your
    reliable and

    result oriented guide. I won’t

    think twice to refer your

    site to anybody who requires guidance

    about this subject matter.

  5. Thank you for the sensible critique. Me & my neighbor were just preparing to do some research

    on this. We got a grab a book from our area library but I think I learned more from
    this post.

    I’m very glad to see such magnificent info being shared freely

    out there.

Leave a comment